A Rich History image

Calvary formally organized as a congregation in July 1854 with 63 members, including the mayor of San Francisco. Our first location was on Bush Street, between Sansome and Montgomery; Calvary was relocated to Union Square five years later.

 

In February 1904, the Calvary congregation began worshiping in the sanctuary at our current location on the corner of Fillmore and Jackson Streets. The building survived the 1906 earthquake and, in 1978, was entered into the National Registry of Historic Places and named as a San Francisco Landmark.

 

A Timeline of Calvary’s History

 

Update on Conservation of Calvary’s Historic Stained Glass Windows